Safari: Day 1

After all the safari drama (and no, I’m not exaggerating), I finally decided on taking 4 days off from the clinic to go on a safari to Lake Manyara, Serengeti National Park, and Ngorongoro Crater. I wanted to join a group since I had been travelling alone all summer, so I contacted a bunch of companies and ended up going with “It Started in Africa” for my safari.

Someone picked me up from ADRA to take me to their office (an hour drive), then I hopped in the safari jeep and drove across town to pick up the rest of my group. I was really nervous about this whole group joining business – I didn’t want to be in a group with honeymooners or a large family (talk about feeling left out), but I was really happy to join a group of 3 30-somethings from London! They were so friendly and really made me feel like  a part of their group.

Lake Manyara was our first stop and it is about an hour and a half outside of Arusha. We saw lots of herds of zebras, buffaloes, wildebeests, etc. in addition to the animals I have pictures of here. I will say I was a bit disappointed with the feel of this safari – we drove on really nice carved paths through the park, so it wasn’t the bumpy crazy ride I was expecting. But, it was a really beautiful park and I had a great time!

Driving through the countryside!

IMG_7012

Pop up roof on the jeep!

IMG_7014

Little monkey family

IMG_7020

Just chillin’.

IMG_7022

A huge group of monkeys hanging out on the path – they didn’t move for a good 5 minutes (I guess it’s okay; after all, we were intruding in THEIR home). See the two babies in the middle?

IMG_7041

We stopped for a picnic lunch in the park, where they had a designated spot with a bunch of picnic tables and toilets. After lunch, we got back on the road and saw this amazing elephant (!!!!!) right next to the path.

IMG_7058

It was destined to be the day of the elephant, I think, because we saw herds and herds of elephants , which all walked right by the car.This is one of my favorite pictures!

IMG_7097

Beautiful sunset!

IMG_7121

This elephant walked right next to our car!!!

IMG_7138

Panoramic view of the lake and the surroundings!

IMG_7166

We left the park and wound our way up this large mountain to drive to our campsite. On our way up, we stopped at an overlook and took a few pictures! Those trees behind us were where we were driving through and you can see Lake Manyara in the background.

IMG_7176

Enjoying a candlelit dinner at our campsite. This place luckily had electricity though!

IMG_7184

To our pleasant surprise, we had live entertainment during our dinner! Acrobatics, dancing, and live music!

IMG_7192

Our campsite the next morning. This was definitely my favorite camp (Panorama Camp) – they had clean facilities, electricity, and a beautiful view to watch the sunrise in the morning.

IMG_7204

Dining area the next morning!

IMG_7202

Leave a Reply

