Why Arusha?

I’ve always loved to travel and I’ve been fortunate enough to be able to travel pretty extensively with friends and family the past few years. As I was thinking about what I wanted to do with my (last ever!!!!) summer, I knew I wanted to go abroad but I wanted a very specific experience!

As some of you may know, I worked in a research lab for a while and while it was a valuable experience, I knew I wanted to do something that was purely clinical work. I also wanted to go somewhere I had never experienced┬ábefore, which narrowed my choices down to South America and Africa (and Antarctica, I suppose). I wanted to go for an extended period of time and I wanted to go on my own, which ruled out some of UNC’s more typical summer abroad programs. Long story short, I settled on doing a rotation in the University of Arusha Medical Center thanks to some great recommendations from UNC’s OIA and some good timing thrown my way!

Fun facts about Arusha:

  • main languages are Swahili and English
  • it’s currently winter┬áthere, with lows in the 50s and highs in the 70s (although temperatures stay fairly constant year round since it’s near the equator)
  • it’s a fairly popular location for tourists with the Ngorongoro Crater and Mt. Kilimanjaro all within driving distance
  • HIV, TB, and other tropical diseases are the biggest concerns here (will be reviewing those on the plane)
  • it’s 7 hours ahead of NC

 

Leave a Reply

